default logo

Scholarships Awarded to Leading Nurses

Again this year the NMC are delighted to present Scholarships and Awards to our most talented practitioners for their work in progressing best practice and patient outcomes in the Nursing profession.

We congratulate them on their success and wish them well in the year ahead. These scholarships help to provide the recipients with the support necessary to achieve excellence in their individual fields, as well as being able to contribute to the greater good of the profession.

The NMC is particularly grateful to its benefactors, for without their support these Scholarships would not be possible.

The Rosemary Norman Foundation very generously supports the prestigious ‘Babe’ Norman Scholarship which is available to all nurses enrolled in a higher research degree, namely a Doctorate of a PhD.

The Australian Legion also generously supports several candidates in their pursuit in gaining further nursing qualifications.


On Thursday 6th March 2014 the following Scholarships were awarded;

The “Babe” Norman Scholarship

  • Mr Philip Russo – PhD – An analysis of existing healthcare associated infection (HAI) surveillance systems in Australia and identification of evidence-based recommendations for national HAI surveillance in Australia. Read more……




The Australian Legion Scholarships

  • Ms Veronica Baker – Master’s of Nursing – Peri anaesthesia study Read more……
  • Ms Lucia Camera – Master’s of Nursing – Peri operative study Read more……
  • Ms Emma Clarke – Master’s of Nursing – Peri operative study
  • Ms Skye Coote – Master’s of Nursing – Nurse Practitioner (Stroke) Read more……
  • Ms Jarryd Walkley – Master’s of Nursing – Acute Care (Surgical) Read more……


RADM John Lord AM (Ret’d), Lt Col Ted Lynes OAM RFD ED (Ret’d) with the Australian Legion Scholarship Recipients

RADM John Lord AM (Ret’d), Lt Col Ted Lynes OAM RFD ED (Ret’d) with the Australian Legion Scholarship Recipients

The Nurses Memorial Centre Scholarships and Awards

2014 Scholarship Winner_JamesBonnamy

Mr James Bonnamy – Master’s of Nursing – Medical/Surgical and Education Read more……


2014 Scholarship Winner_MargaretMcCormick

Ms Margaret McCormick – PhD – Obstetric staff training and women’s perception of safety Read more……


2014 Scholarship Winner_DeborahFox

Ms Deborah FoxBetty Jeffrey Award – PhD – Transfer of home birth midwifery patients to hospital Read more…..


2014 Scholarship Winner_MargaretFlood

Ms Margaret FloodVivian Bullwinkel Award – Master’s of Nursing Research (Applied Science) – Trends in postpartum haemorrhage Read more……



We congratulate all the recipients on their work to-date and will look forward to watching their progress.

Find further information on scholarships.